Nicole's Engl blog

Great Book

Posted on: September 25, 2012

As someone who has chosen to devote a large part of their post secondary education to English literature, I can say I thoroughly enjoy books and reading in general. I read tons of books for class and have been for years, but in my spare time guess what more book reading. So if I took a rough estimate I would say I’ve read probably around 200 books. I guess what books are my favourite or that I deem great will probably change as the number of books I read grows but currently there are two that come to mind.

When I read books for class it goes one of two ways, I am totally impressed in the book and love it, or it’s a slow and painful death to finish it (if I do finish it). This is interesting because the two books I find the “greatest” right now are two I read in class, also interesting I knew I liked them off the bat but I grew to love them more as we discussed their content in class.

The first one is Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt, yes this is a book intended for children but I read it in a children literature course so that’s fair. One of the reasons this book sticks out to me is that I had seen the movie prior to reading the book, although it was years ago an all I remembered from it was the basic plot (they can live forever) and the fact that Alexis Bledel stared in it. But after reading the book I completely fell in love with the story, the characters, everything about it. At the time I couldn’t really pinpoint what was so great about but just that I loved it. After going to class my infatuation grew upon becoming more aware of some of the devices used throughout the work as well as looking in detail at some of the images created. I walked away from class thinking so much more of this book, and I had come to realize that Natalie Babbitt writes beautifully in this book, don’t ask me what that means but it is the only way I can describe the writing in this book just beautiful oh and lovely. In my eyes this book is world class literature not children’s literature anymore.

The second book I read for my contemporary Canadian literature course, it is Oryx and Crake by Margret Attwood. This is the first book I had read by the famous Canadian literary figure so I already had high expectations. But I was immediately involved in the characters and the way the story was presented by a character called Snowman who was the only human left on earth looking back on the events that led him to this time. I’ve always enjoyed books that take this looking back approach while still narrating the present moment, I see them as a puzzle to figure out how the character got here. Regardless this book had so much more, I later learned in class it belongs to genre of futuristic fiction, the book is based completely on exaggerations of current things in our present day this fascinated me. One image I will never see gone from my mind is the idea of chiki-noobs they are genetically modified chickens that  only comprised of the parts of the chicken you would eat, so they have no face only a small hole of mouth for feeding. IT was completely disturbing regardless this book keeps you thinking about the content within it and then later leads you to greater question the society you live in. Also a reason I cant get it out of my head is it is the first in a trilogy in which the third book is yet to be released or have a release date.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

