Nicole's Engl blog

Vice

Posted on: October 11, 2012

Well secret vice I held close, I’m not to sure what I thought a vice was before but I was instantly going to write about my love of free stuff/ good deals. I guess I thought a vice was something you loved or like a guilty pleasure but I goggled the definition first. And now I see that a vice is an immoral habit or practice. I had to think for a while but I think I came up with something.

I enjoy lying to my parents, I’m not sure why because I don’t lie about anything important in fact I lie about mainly insignificant details of my life. It could be because I don’t want them to know absolutely everything about me, or sometimes I just might not be sure what they will say or how they will react.

In high school I did it to avoid getting in trouble, “what did you and you’re friends do last night?” “oh we watched a movie went to tim hortons nothing exciting” LIE we went to a suburb twenty minutes out of town got wasted, with people 5 years older than us then got a ride back home with someone we didn’t even know. Those kind of lies are understandable, but then there were lies like, “where did you and your friends go last night after the bar” “no where” LIE we went to about twenty different fast food restaurants until we found one that would serve us” the truth there would in no way gain a different response than what I said. In fact my mom would have probably found more entertainment in the real story. But I lied I don’t do it as often as I did in high school when I viewed it as almost a necessity, but every once in a while I still do it. I think I do it just cuz I can, just to see if I can get away with it, or maybe its because I haven’t been caught so I get a little thrill out of it. I won’t ever know the real reason but I think it could have something to do with growing up.

Leave a Reply

