Nicole's Engl blog

Give Up?

Posted on: October 14, 2012

What I could give up knowing?? I sat and thought long and hard for this, because its like when you see a movie where someone wishes for something and then it turns there life upside down and they end up trying to get it back to the way it was before. So this is not a topic to be taken lightly. I considered events of my life, or times when I felt horrible did I want to forget knowing what that felt like?

I came to realization I don’t want to give up knowing anything, everything I have gone through and every thing I have experienced good and bad has made me who I am today. If I gave up knowing how my cousin died I wouldn’t have this world view I have now, that shapes how I interact with everyone and is going to shape a lot of how I manage my students one day. If I gave up knowing how I felt after my boyfriend of two years cheated on me I wouldn’t value my current relationship as much, and I wouldn’t have been so happy and accepting of the times I spent single, I wouldn’t know how to be on my own. If I gave up knowing the times I shared with someone I never see or talk to anymore I wouldn’t be able to cherish the moments I have now with the people who are in my life, because I wouldn’t know that they might not always be there. If I gave up knowing how I made someone feel when I said something hurt full I wouldn’t take care in the words I say like I do now.

All these things I know from the experiences I have lived are important no matter how bad or good, I can learn something from any experience. And with each experience I gain knowledge and skills that are useful to me in the future or right now. And everything I know and everything I have experienced makes me who I am today. And excuse my conceitedness right now but I like who I am and I’m proud of who I am today, and without certain parts of my life I wouldn’t be who I am today. So I refuse to give up knowing something. Well actually… one time my mom informed her friend that her and my dad like to “neck” when there drunk, when I was sitting in the same room I could do with out knowing that.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

