Nicole's Engl blog

Dresser

Posted on: October 21, 2012

My dad’famils dresser is an interesting topic, for someone who can constantly complain about how messy my room is, his dresser take the cake. It’s the first thing you see when you stare directly into my parents room its right there facing the double doors. Its antique and it has some nice stain on the wood, and some equally antique looking knobs. It has a quite large mirror that angles and I use often to check out my outfits as  whole. But the top of it is covered in stuff. Magazines, scraps of paper with measurements on them or phone numbers, the answering machine and the phone, exacto knife blade refills in various shapes since some of them have very little paper left since they went through the wash, these thing I can name off the top of my head are things on my dads dresser, even though I cant see it right now I know that they are there. Basically this is where my dad put anything he has with him at the end of the day, I’ve seen him do it. He empties his pockets (most of the times; see razor blades) and all the change goes into a large cup next to the dresser, and anything else goes onto the dresser. I’m sure if you ask he will tell you it’s organized and he knows where everything is but on more than one occasion we have found something he’s been looking for buried under something on his desk. Every once and a while he cleans it up a bit, but there’s no minimalist approach here it still has stuff all over it just in a more organized fashion. I don’t know what’s in the drawers I can assume socks and underwear typical dresser stuff, or if they are neat or a reflection of the surface. The dresser is an on going thing with my mom she always complains to him to clean it, or how much junk there is and does he really need all this stuff. But so it remains and it has my whole life.

Leave a Reply

